Wales side named to face England this Saturday

Wales have made two front-row changes from the side that beat Italy on the opening weekend to take on England at Principality Stadium on Saturday (KO 16.50 live on BBC/S4C).

02.02.17 - Wales Rugby Training -Rhys Webb and Justin Tipuric during training.
Rhys Webb and Justin Tipuric during training.

Props Rob Evans and Tomas Francis both come into the starting XV for Wales’ match against the Grand Slam Champions.  Taulupe Faletau is the solitary personnel change from the match-day squad against Italy and he is named on the bench.
Evans and Francis join Ken Owens in the front-row with Jake Ball and skipper Alun Wyn Jones again partnering in the second-row. Sam Warburton, Justin Tipuric and Ross Moriarty make up the back-row.

Alun Wyn Jones during training.
Alun Wyn Jones during training.

Wales name an unchanged backline with Dan Biggar recovering from injury to partner Rhys Webb at half-back.
Scarlets duo Scott Williams and Jonathan Davies continue in the midfield with Liam Williams, George North and Leigh Halfpenny comprising the back-three.
“There is huge excitement in the camp ahead of Saturday for what is set to be a massive RBS 6 Nations encounter,” said Wales Head Coach Rob Howley.
“We were really pleased with the result out in Rome and are looking to build on that performance this weekend.
“Both Rob (Evans) and Tomas (Francis) made a big impact off the bench last weekend and deserve their opportunity to start.
“We have had a short turnaround but Dan and George have worked hard with the medics and we are pleased to be able to name them.”
On the bench Nicky Smith, Samson Lee and Scott Baldwin provide the front-row replacements with Cory Hill and Faletau completing the forward contingent.  The back-line cover remains the same from Rome in Gareth Davies, Sam Davies and Jamie Roberts.


05.02.17 - Italy v Wales - RBS 6 Nations 2017 -George North of Wales.
An injured George North scoring a try against Italy last weekend. He’s now fit to play this Saturday

Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon) (67 Caps)
George North (Northampton Saints) (66 Caps)
Jonathan Davies (Scarlets) (60 Caps)
Scott Williams (Scarlets) (42 Caps)
Liam Williams (Scarlets) (39 Caps)
Dan Biggar (Ospreys) (52 Caps)
Rhys Webb (Ospreys) (24 Caps)
Rob Evans (Scarlets) (13 Caps)
Ken Owens (Scarlets) (46 Caps)
Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs) (18 Caps)
Jake Ball (Scarlets) (22 Caps)
Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys) (106 Caps) (CAPTAIN)
Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues) (70 Caps)
Justin Tipuric (Ospreys) (47 Caps)
Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby) (13 Caps)

Scott Baldwin (Ospreys) (29 Caps)
Nicky Smith (Ospreys) (8 Caps)
Samson Lee (Scarlets) (30 Caps)
Cory Hill (Newport Gwent Dragons) (4 Caps)
Taulupe Faletau (Bath) (62 Caps)
Gareth Davies (Scarlets) (22 Caps)
Sam Davies (Ospreys) (4 Caps)
Jamie Roberts (Harlequins) (87 Caps)

Share this story

Nathan Spackman

Nathan is the Operations Manager at Bro Radio. You'll occasionally find him with our street team and hosting at local events as well as presenting our facebook live videos.