Studio: 01446 420593 / Office: 01446 420681
Listen: Bro Radio
Listen: Bro Hits
Listen Again

Boundary Commission for Wales opens eight-week consultation on constituency boundaries


The Boundary Commission for Wales has opened an eight-week consultation on how constituency boundaries could be changed, with plans to reduce the number of Welsh MPs.

The Commission published its guide to the review in March, with the number of constituencies across Wales set to reduce from 40 to 32.

In undertaking its work, the Commission says it has considered issues such as Geography, existing constituencies, local government boundaries, and local ties when developing proposals for new constituencies.

Changes in the Vale of Glamorgan:

The Vale of Glamorgan is covered by two parliamentary constituencies, Vale of Glamorgan and Cardiff South & Penarth.

The commission says the existing Cardiff South and Penarth constituency currently exceeds the statutory requirements in respect of size of electorate. The Commission has proposed that the electoral wards of Llanrumney and Rumney are moved to the Cardiff Central constituency.

The proposal also says that Dinas Powys, which is currently included in the existing Vale of Glamorgan constituency, would then become part of Cardiff South and Penarth.

Meanwhile, the Vale of Glamorgan which is the only constituency in Wales whose existing electorate is within the statutory range will remain largely the same, with the exception of the loss of Dinas Powys.

Anyone wishing to respond to the review can do so via

Have you got a local story to tell? Submit your story or email
Copyright © 2009 - 2020
Vale of Glamorgan Broadcasting CIC
Listen Live
Listen Again
tags linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram