Studio: 01446 420593 / Office: 01446 420681
Listen Live
Listen Again

22nd February 2020

Cardiff City: Factfile

BY: Ben Tuffin

Cardiff City Football Club is a professional football club based in Cardiff, Wales, who currently compete in the SkyBet Championship, which is the second tier of English football.

They are one of only two non-English clubs to compete in any of England’s top four divisions alongside arch rivals Swansea City and now play their games at the Cardiff City Stadium, having originally played their matches at Ninian Park. Nicknamed the Bluebirds, they moved into their new home in 2009, which holds a capacity of 33,280 and has also become the home of the Wales National Football Team.

Vincent Tan has been the club’s owner since May 2010, while Mehmet Dalman is the Cardiff City Chairman. Neil Harris is the current first team manager at Cardiff, having taken the role in November 2019 following a successful spell at Championship rivals Millwall.

Cardiff City have spent the majority of their history playing in the second tier of English football, as they currently do, whilst also having spells where they have dropped as low as the fourth tier. The Welsh outfit have played 15 of their last 17 seasons in the Championship, with the other two being single campaigns in the Premier League that have resulted in instant relegations back to the second tier.

Cardiff controversially switched their traditional colours in 2012, moving from blue to red following a decision made by owner Tan, who later returned the home strip back to blue in January 2015. This was made as a decision to unite the Cardiff fans once again.

No player has played more games for Cardiff than Billy Hardy, who featured 590 times for the club between 1911-1931. One of his teammates, Len Davies, is also the club’s record goalscorer with 179 goals to his name scored over a 12-year spell with the club.

Gary Medel remains Cardiff’s record signing, with the Chilean international midfielder moving to the Welsh capital in the summer of 2013 for £11m from Spanish club Sevilla.

Arguably Cardiff’s most famous day came back in 1927 when they defeated Arsenal 1-0 in the FA Cup Final thanks to a Hugh Ferguson goal, with it being the only major cup competition that they have won in their history. The Bluebirds have twice reached major cup finals this century, getting to the FA Cup Final and League Cup Final once apiece in 2008 and 2012 respectively. In the former, they were defeated 1-0 by Portsmouth at Wembley and took Liverpool to penalties in the latter, only to lose to Kenny Dalglish’s team in the shootout.

Cardiff City Honours


First Division (As first tier)

  • Runners-up: 1923–24

Second Division / Championship (As second tier)

  • Champions: 2012–13
  • Runners-up: 1920–21, 1951–52, 1959–60, 2017–18

Third Division South / Third Division (As third tier)

  • Champions: 1946–47 (South)
  • Runners-up: 1975–76, 1982–83

Fourth Division / Third Division (As fourth tier)

  • Champions: 1992–93
  • Runners-up: 1987–88, 2000–01


FA Cup

  • Champions: 1926–27
  • Runners-up: 1924–25, 2007–08

FA Charity Shield

  • Champions: 1927

Football League Cup

  • Runners-up: 2011–12

Southern Football League Second Division

  • Champions: 1912–13

For all your Football news head over to Squawka.

Other content you may like:
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram